ViralURL blocked by spybot
Apparently, ViralUrl is blocked by SpyBot, a popular anti-spyware-scanner that allows people to automatically block "bad links".
While ViralUrl is just a normal advertising opportunity and not something that should be blocked , there is always a chance for advertising sites to get blocked by software that tries to protect people from spam and ads.
So, what does this mean for your advertising?
I would suggest not to use ViralUrl as your link tracker, because a lot of people just won't be able to see your site.
It may take a while before they get removed from the Spybot blocklist. And even after Spybot removes them, a lot of people might still have the link blocked from previous Spybot scans.
* ViralUrl is also blacklisted in RulesEmporium.com.
This means that a lot of people complained about emails with their link in it, as being spam.
This also means that you should not use ViralUrl links in your email advertising, because a lot of your emails will be blocked then.
It is recommended to use the RulesEmporium blacklist checking tool, every time you use a link in an email.
You could of course always use a reliable link tracker, knowing that it is not blocked or blacklisted :)
* Also worth mentioning ... I see a lot of people emailing through safelists etc.
That's good but as we learned from the ViralUrl case, remember to use a link tracker that's not blocked, to get the best results out of your mailing.
A lot of people also add their email address in their emails.
It is really recommended to check out the ProfitsDesk helpdesk, because just giving people your email address is not good business.
They might be trying to contact you, but there is a big chance that their emails get blocked by spam filters.
The ProfitsDesk helpdesk highly improves the chance of receiving business emails.
And people will also see your own ads when they contact you through your helpdesk.
You really should consider the idea of owning your own helpdesk, read more...
http://profitsdesk.com/order.php
Greg.
Check out my own HelpDesk here.
Visit here for: Online Income, Advertising, Marketing and Traffic Generation Resources
Keywords: Advertising+Marketing, Online+Income
Traffic+Generation, Free+Advertising,
















3 comments:
When I just checked... ViralURL wasn't listed in RulesEmporium, not with the domain name, nor it's IP address.
Also... SpyBot isn't doing this the first time. About a year ago that mistakenly blocked Alexa.com which they eventually fixed.
SpyBot has been informed of this multiple times and will hopefully remove ViralURL very soon.
Anyway... luckily this affects only a very small percentage of people use SpyBot and the Immunize function enabled. :)
Best regards,
Frank Bauer
Hi Greg,
How is your advertising for TrackerBoard.com and ProfitsDesk.com going? Smile
We approached SpyBot multiple times to resolve this. They did the same mistake a while ago when they black listed Alexa.com for some time until they fixed their mistake.
Luckily only a very small percentage of people are affected by their error that actually use the SpyBot software and then only those that enabled the Immunize feature.
Still, we are working on making them understand that this is a false positive and they should delist us asap. Until then we ask every ViralURL member to do the same, complain to the company that created SpyBot.
Regarding RulesEmporium... I checked, neither ViralURL.com nor our associated IP is currently listed.
Best regards,
Frank Bauer
Hi Frank.
Indeed you are right that the domain was de-blacklisted after I first wrote that post.
Of course these unfortunate issues like the spybot-blocking can sometimes happen, and be very annoying to well-meaning business owners like yourself.
Anyway, good look with the de-blocking :-)
Post a Comment